New Award

Yinsheng Wang, a distinguished professor of chemistry at the UCR Department of Chemistry, has received the NIEHS T32 Training Grant in Environmental Toxicology. 


Yinsheng Wang
Yinsheng Wang

We are pleased to announce that the competitive renewal for our NIEHS T32 Training Grant in Environmental Toxicology was awarded on September 10, 2021, thanks to the great effort made by Distinguished Professor Yinsheng Wang, who is the director of this training program. The T32 program supports predoctoral and/or postdoctoral training; and is designed to provide trainees with high-quality research training and a curriculum of study in subjects related to environmental toxicology, chemistry, statistics, research ethics, etc. The T32 training grant offers stipend and tuition support for the appointed trainees. Trainees must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States. All trainees are required to participate in program seminars and annual symposium and present their research works.

In this round of renewal, we are awarded with 7 predoc and 2 postdoc slots. The director of the program, Prof. Wang, and the Internal Steering Committee will select trainees from the nomination
pool; and the nomination process typically starts in June each year. Nomination can be made by the faculty members associated with this grant.

For more information about the T32 program, please contact the training program director, Prof. Yinsheng Wang.

Changcheng Zhou

Changcheng Zhou, a professor of biomedical sciences at the UCR School of Medicine, will join colleagues in studying the potential impact of COVID-19 on the cardiovascular system. 


Changcheng Zhou

Changcheng Zhou

Led by Dr. Tzung Hsiai, a professor at UCLA, the multidisciplinary team received funding from the American Heart Association to conduct the research.

Recent data shows COVID-19 patients with hypertension and cardiovascular disease are highly susceptible to their more severe effects, with mortality rates up to three times higher than the general population. 

In collaboration with the American Heart Association COVID-19 Coordinating Center, the team will aim to address unanswered questions following the long-term effects of the coronavirus crisis on cardiovascular and cerebrovascular health. 

“We hope to develop SARS-CoV-2 infection in an organ-on-a-chip system to detect various levels of cytokine released by heart cells in response to COVID-19,” Zhou said. “Once established, this first-of-its-kind ‘COVID-19-on-a-chip’ can be adapted to others organ systems observed to be impacted by SARS-CoV-2 infection, including the lung, gut, kidney, and brain.” 

Zhou is an expert on the molecular mechanisms involved in cardiometabolic disease. He will investigate how the SARS-CoV-2 infection induces inflammatory responses and cytokine releases in the cardiovascular system. SARS-CoV-2 is the virus that causes COVID-19.

Prue Talbot

Prue Talbot, a professor of cell biology at UC Riverside, has received a seed grant to study the COVID-19-related infection of respiratory cells.


Prue Talbot

Prue Talbot

She and her team will use the funds to test the hypothesis that electronic cigarettes and nicotine increase the ACE2 receptor on respiratory epithelium, providing more binding sites for the virus and increasing the possibility of infection.

“We expect our work will help clarify if the use of tobacco products makes it more likely for an infection to occur,” Talbot said.

Angiotensin converting enzyme-2, or ACE2, is a special receptor on some cells that has attracted the attention of drug companies as a potential target for addressing the novel coronavirus.

The $25,000, six-month grant from the California Tobacco-Related Disease Research Program of the University of California will support the research of three graduate students.

 2022 Watkins Commencement Award Recipient - Roxana Coreas

Roxana Coreas

Roxana received the 2022 Watkins Commencement Award and she will be the student marshal at the Commencement Ceremony. The student marshal carries the "Graduate Division" banner during the procession and is seated on the platform with the official party (Deans, Provost, etc…).

2022 ETOX Student Symposium Awards

Congratulation to this year's ETOX Student Symposium presentation winners.

The Fukuto Award winner this year was Sarah Avila-Barnard.

The best presentation from 1st and 2nd year students winner was Xingyuan Chen.

The first place presentations from 3rd years and above winners were Desiree Aispuro and Junyi Chen.

The second place presentations from 3rd years and above were Sheron Hakopian and Ying Tan.

Let us help you with your search